Qantas Wallabies fall to England in London to end 2018 campaign

by Rugby Australia

The Qantas Wallabies have crashed to a 37-18 defeat to England after the two sides were deadlocked at half time at Twickenham Stadium in London overnight (AEDT).

The Australians looked set to go ahead before the break but when lock Izack Rodda was stopped short of the tryline by what appeared to be a no-arms tackle from England flyhalf Owen Farrell, the Wallabies settled for three points from the boot of Matt To’omua to make it 13-all when England were ruled offside on the following phase.

From there it was all England, as they mounted 24 unanswered points through tries to fullback Elliot Daly, winger Joe Cokanasiga, and Farrell himself to seal the result with under five minutes left to play.

Israel Folau collected a Bernard Foley grubber on full time to score his second for the match and enabled the Wallabies to avoid a record margin of defeat to the Englishmen.

The Wallabies were led out by Will Genia, playing his 100th Test in the clash, while wearing their Indigenous inspired jersey for the first time on foreign soil.

It wasn’t the start the men in gold had hoped for, when England winger Jonny May crossed inside the third minute following a pair of Wallabies mistakes.

Despite taking some momentum into the break through Folau’s powerful opening try in the 36th minute running off Sekope Kepu, and To’omua’s late penalty goal, the Wallabies were unable to put it together and England made them pay as they piled on the points in the second half.


Australia 18 (Israel Folau 2 tries; Matt Toomua con; 2 pens) defeated by England 37 (Jonny May, Elliot Daly, Joe Cokanasiga, Owen Farrell tries; Owen Farrell 4 cons; 3 pens)

As it happened:

3 mins: Jonny May try, Owen Farrell con AUS 0-7 ENG

7 mins: Matt To’omua pen AUS 3-7 ENG

15 mins: Owen Farrell pen AUS 3-10 ENG

34 mins: Owen Farrell pen AUS 3-13 ENG

36 mins: Israel Folau try, Matt To’omua con AUS 10-13 ENG

40 mins: Matt To’omua pen AUS 13-13 ENG

44 mins: Eliot Daly try, Owen Farrell con AUS 13-20 ENG

56 mins: Joe Cokanasiga try, Owen Farrell con AUS 13-27 ENG

64 mins: Owen Farrell pen AUS 13-30 ENG

76 mins: Owen Farrell try, Owen Farrell con AUS 13-37 ENG

80 mins: Israel Folau try AUS 18-37 ENG

Qantas Wallabies

15. Israel Folau 14. Dane Haylett-Petty 13. Samu Kerevi 12. Bernard Foley 11. Jack Maddocks (22. Sefa Naivalu, 41 mins – replaced by 23. Marika Koroibete at 69 mins) 10. Matt To’omua 9. Will Genia (21. Nick Phipps, 69 mins) 8. Peter Samu (20. Ned Hanigan, 57 mins) 7. Michael Hooper © 6. Jack Dempsey 5. Adam Coleman (19. Rob Simmons, 69 mins) 4. Izack Rodda 3. Sekope Kepu (18. Allan Alaalatoa, 57 mins) 2. Tolu Latu (16. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 49 mins) 1. Scott Sio (17. Jermaine Ainsley, 67 mins)

*replacements in brackets


15. Elliot Daly 14. Joe Cokanasiga 13. Henry Slade 12. Ben Te’o 11. Jonny May 10. Owen Farrell 9. Ben Youngs 8. Mark Wilson 7. Sam Underhill 6. Brad Shields 5. Courtney Lawes 4. Maro Itoje 3. Kyle Sinckler 2. Jamie George 1. Ben Moon. Reserves: 16. Dylan Hartley 17. Alec Hepburn 18. Harry Williams 19. Charlie Ewels 20. Nathan Hughes 21. Richard Wigglesworth 22. George Ford 23. Manu Tuilagi

Match Notes:

Will Genia 100th Test (becomes 10th Wallabies centurion)

Australia 6th consecutive defeat to England